top of page

District Board Chairman

Rob Adams


​District Secretary

Jolene Lewke ​


​District Treasurer

Peggy Thiel



District Commissioner

Gil Steffanides

District Commissioner
Karen Tschurwald

Distrcit Commissioner

Jolene Lewke


District Town Board


Paul Jarvis

To send an e-mail to a Commissioner, go to the CONTACT US page.

Anyone can be elected as a District Commissioner at the Annual Meeting in June.

Commissioners are elected for terms lasting three years.

When a District Commissioner term ends, that position is open for election.

If the current commissioner does not want to be re-elected, resigns, or can't complete their term, then a nomination committee is formed to locate potential candidates for the position.

The Annual District Meeting only elects commissioners, not Board Officers.  Board Officers are elected for one year terms by the Board itself after each Annual Meeting.  Being elected as a commissioner does not automatically require you to serve as Chairman, Secretary, or Treasurer.  These Officer positions are renewed each year by Board election only.

Anyone can be nominated from the floor and elected to a Commissioner position at the District Annual Meeting. No formal application or announcement is necessary.   However, it is best that if you plan to run for a commissioner position, please let the Board Secretary know at least 70 days in advance of the Annual Meeting.  In this way we can publish your name in all meeting announcements and write some background information on you in the Newsletter and the Argus Meeting announcement.

The Chapter 33 Statute governing Lake Districts states the number of commissioners allowed per District based on the number of District property owners (called electors).  Currently,. Mt. Morris District has five commissioners, plus  a County and Town Representative,


District officers are elected at the first meeting after the annual meeting by the Board of Commissioners for a one year term. There are only three officer positions: Chairman, Treasurer, and Secretary.

Each Commissioner or Board Officer can lead a number of special functions important to the operation of the District such as:

Harvesting Management, Dam Maintenance, Newsletter Publishing, Website Publishing, Records Archiving, Endowment Fund.  Other areas can be determined by the Board.  We also welcome non-Board members to take on these functions if they have the required expertise to lead them.


There are two: One Town Board Representative, and one County Representative.  They are not elected to a District Officer positions, but appointed by the Town or County. They serve as liaisons between the District Board and the Town of Mt. Morris and Waushara County to communicate or discuss issues that impact or are of interest to the District. 

bottom of page